Dipping a toe, why not?

I bought Maus today for the next meeting of @DublinTwookClub. I never thought I’d buy a graphic novel but Horace Dorlan happens to be on my to read list and if these two go well I could indulge in Watchmen and / or Persepolis.

I may never have read a graphic novel before, but there are four in the offing. I’m not sure how many chicklit novels I’ll need to read to offset the testosterone.

4 Responses to Dipping a toe, why not?

  1. Stan says:

    How did you like Maus? I thought it was very good, especially considering how difficult it is to find a suitable tone for the subject.

    If you want low-testosterone graphic novels, Chris Ware’s Jimmy Corrigan is a beautiful and amazing book, though it’s also very sad. Or Eric Drooker’s wordless Blood Song, which is a quiet work of art.

    • emilyam says:

      Hi Stan, I really liked it, surprised myself by how much. I started it and put it down and then picked it up and started it again and raced through it.

      Thanks for the recommendations, I’ll check them out. I still haven’t got around to Persepolis, although it’s been on my shelf now for months.

      • Stan says:

        You’ll probably love Persepolis, Emily. It’s an engrossing story, and unexpectedly funny.

        Watchmen is sort of a must-read, graphic-novel-wise, not just because of how it changed comics but because it’s genuinely brilliant. And it should be easy to borrow a copy! Have you seen the film? I had mixed feelings about it. Entertaining, for sure, but weirdly flat, and it made some awful errors of judgement and failed to capture the sense of mounting doom that flows through the book.

  2. emilyam says:

    I hate to borrow books though, in case I like them and want to keep them. And even if I don’t like a book I’ll more than likely hang on to it, just in case I want to revisit it at some point in the future.

    I must get Watchmen in book form and then I’ll make it my business to see the film.

Leave a Reply

